Curriculum Vitae




Date of Birth:    27 February 1945.


Position:           Head of Department, Professor of Pathology

Address:           Sir William Dunn School of Pathology

                        University of Oxford

                        South Parks Rd

                        Oxford OX1 3RE


Telephone:       01865 275503

Fax:                  01865 275501




University of Cambridge Degrees

1966                 BA Natural Sciences Tripos. Class I

1970                 MB, BChir. Distinction in Pharmacology and Therapeutics

1974                 PhD

1977                 MA.



Professional Qualifications & Membership of Professional Bodies

1981                 MRC Path

1988                 MRCP

1990                 FRS

1992                 FRC Path.

1998                 F.Med Sci



Posts Held

1969-1970         House Physician and Surgeon, London Hospital

1970-1973         MRC Junior Research Fellowship whilst PhD Student

1973-1976         Demonstrator, Dept of Pathology, University of Cambridge

1973-1978         Research Fellow, King's College, Cambridge

1975-1976         Side Tutor, King's College, Cambridge & University Lecturer, Dept of Pathology

1978-1979         Visiting Scientist with Dr C Milstein, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

1982                 Senior House Officer, Dept of Medicine, Royal Postgraduate Medical School, London

1985                 Reader in Therapeutic Immunology, Dept of Pathology, Cambridge

1985                 Fellow, King's College, Cambridge

1987                 Eleanor Roosevelt Fellowship, Stanford, USA

1989                 Kay Kendall Professor of Therapeutic Immunology, Dept of Pathology

1990                 Fellow of the Royal Society

1994 -               Director of the Therapeutic Antibody Centre, University of Oxford

1994-                 Head of Department, Professor of Pathology, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford.



Current Research

Since 1979 my major research support has been through MRC Programme Grants in the field of therapeutic immunoregulation as well as numerous project grants in related areas.

Current MRC grants:     

                                    MRC Programme grant: Therapeutic Immunoregulation.

MRC Special Research grant: Reprogramming the immune system to accept the histoincompatible stem cell-derived transplants.






Prizes, Awards, Scholarships, etc

1965 Exhibition Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge

1966 Honorary Scholar

1966-1969 Open Scholarship, London Hospital Medical School

1968 Arnold Thompson Prize for Medical and Surgical Disease of Children

1976-1978 Andrew Elliot Prize for Obstetrics and Gynaecology

1974 Hutchinson Prize for Clinical Research, London Hospital

1981 Royal Society Guest Research Fellowship Award.

1989-90 Graham Bull Prize, Royal College of Physicians

1991 Chandos lecturer of the Renal Association ‘Prospects for transplantation tolerance’

1992 Bradshaw Lecture, Royal College of Physicians

1996 Honorary Fellow, Queen Mary & Westfield College

1999 Heberden Lecture medal, Glasgow

2005 Jose Carreras Award, European Hematology Association

2005 JDRF Excellence in Clinical Research Award

2007 University of Iowa Distinguished Professor Lecture

2007 Thomas E Starzl Prize in Surgery and Immunology

2007 Scrip Lifetime Achievement award


 Visiting Professorships

1992 Visiting Professor of Rheumatology and Immunology, Duke University Medical Center

         North Carolina

1996 Visiting Professor, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia



 Advisory Committees

Have served on MRC. Cell Board Grants Committee A; MRC Cell Board; Cell and Molecular Panel of Wellcome Trust; Grant Committee of the Cancer Research Campaign; Nuffield small grants schemes for New Blood lecturers.



Royal Society, Sectional Committee 7.

MRC UK Stem Cell User and Clinical Liaison Committee

Scientific Advisory Board-Antony Nolan Trust

Cancer Research UK, Programmes Committee.

Council of the Academy of Medical Sciences.



Named Lectures

Hume Memorial Lecturer - American Transplantation Society 1989

Janssen-Cilag Lecturer - The Transplantation Society of Australia & New Zealand 1990

Chandos Lecturer 1991. The renal Association..

Pierre Grabar Lecturer for the French Society for Immunology 2001

Almroth Wright Lecture, Imperial College London, May 2004

Paul Kallos Lecture, Bornholm, Denmark, August 2004


Conference President and organizer 6th International Conference on New trends in Immunosuppression, Salzburg, February 2004